Jasmine by the Beach

Malee Beach Guest House & Restaurant
396/74-75 Moo 12, Soi Ratchawarun, Pratumnuk Road,
Phra Tamnak Hill, Pattaya, Thailand 20260

Returning to this little sleepy coastal town a 2nd time literally a year from 2013, brings back some pretty nostalgic sight, scent & taste. Accompanied with my jet-setting friends, we decided to pop in on the 1st evening upon arrival for a quick dinner before heading off to a party at one of the villas where many more jet-setting friends were hosting.

Our opening meal upon arrival

Squid in lemon sauce – a taste that I’d never forget. You would expect pretty neat seafood in any given coastal town, and this dish is no surprise. I’ve enjoyed it before and I’m enjoying it again.

Tofu soup with minced pork – this is generally something very mellow that we’ve ordered in anticipation that some amongst us having poor threshold for spice.

Sliced beef salad – this is not exactly what I’d expect, because the spice factor was somewhat being moderated. I suspect is probably done so in lieu of the strong European tourist patronage, in this part of the town.

Stir fried sliced pork with vegetable – this is something pretty familiar to most Chinese tze char cooking. Simple, non-spicy and good crunch in the vegetables.

No Asian meal is ever complete without rice, and in Thailand, the Jasmine rice is genuinely fragrant. Truly a stark contrast to anything we get in the export grocers.

Truth be told… I would be a little more adventurous with the stuff I’d consume. However, I had to be consider the threshold of my jet-setting friends.

Price point wise, it’s reasonably affordable. Perhaps big eaters like me, would like extra portions of rice or dishes. Not forgetting, they’ve got very affordable accommodation upstairs as well. With the free WiFi, it’s no excuse for me not to share these lovely pics on social media.

Leave a Reply

